Arkansas Lawmakers Move to Raise the Age to Purchase Tobacco to 21
State Rep. Lee Johnson and State Rep. Missy Irvin have filed a bill which would raise the legal age to purchase tobacco in Arkansas to 21 years old. This would be inclusive of cigarettes, e-cigarettes, and e-vapor products.
The bill would not apply to members of the military. If someone under the age of 21 years old was found to be in possession of any tobacco products, it could legally be confiscated and destroyed by law enforcement and school officials.
In addition if a person under the age of 21 was be charged with a crime while in possession of tobacco products, the court could order up to 3 hours of community service and enrollment in a tobacco education program.
The current legal age to purchase tobacco in Arkansas is 18 years old.
State Rep. Lee Johnson is from Fort Smith. State Rep. Missy Irvin is from Mountain View. Both are Republicans. Read the bill here.
What do you think of HB1519?