## Speaker Shepherd,

The undersigned members of the House Republican Caucus express our strong support to appoint only Republican representatives as chairs and vice chairs of the House committees and subcommittees. Chair and vice chair positions are very important in the policymaking process and hold significant power during debate on legislation, influencing the policy agenda, deciding which bills make it to the House floor, and how the House interacts with the Senate and the Governor's Administration.

The people of Arkansas elected 82 Republican members of the House of Representatives. Our caucus reflects deep diversity from across Arkansas, with a wealth of backgrounds, experiences, and talents. We have in our caucus all of the leadership potential we need to fill these positions, and the voters elected us to lead. Winning elections comes with responsibility and the authority to govern. Members of the minority party are still entitled to represent their districts, file legislation, have a fair hearing, and make their case to the voters in session and in the next election.

There are 86 chair and vice chair positions that have meaningful responsibility: A & B committees (20 chairs and vice chairs), Legislative Council (2) and its subcommittees (30, excluding the Executive Subcommittee), Audit (2) and its subcommittees (8, excluding the Executive Subcommittee), Budget (2) and its subcommittees (10), Rules (2), House Management (2), Performance Review (2), Energy (2), Public Retirement (2), and Advanced Communications and Information Technology (2).

Nearly every member of the Republican Caucus could be appointed to a position of leadership, including members in their 1st or 2nd term who could begin to prepare for larger leadership roles in the future. At present, there are Republican members who are entering their 4th and 5th terms who have never held a chair or vice chair position. In the 93rd General Assembly, Democrats held 13 of these positions, including members who were in only their 2nd term. In the future, potential rules changes should be studied to determine what permanent changes may be appropriate, but with appointments approaching we simply ask for your consideration as you make your decisions.

Mr. Speaker, we write to you not in a spirit of partisanship for its own sake, but rather in respecting the outcome of the election and governing with the supermajority the voters gave us. Our members deserve the chance to lead and advance our shared agenda as chairs and vice chairs of these important committees. For this reason, we believe all 86 of these positions should be filled by Republican members.

Thank you for your leadership and service to Arkansas.

Respectfully,

## [Alphabetically]

Rep. Brandon Achor Rep. Wade Andrews Rep. Howard Beaty Rep. Rick Beck Rep. Mary Bentley Rep. Harlan Breaux Rep. Karilyn Brown Rep. Matt Brown Rep. Rebecca Burkes Rep. Joey Carr Rep. John Carr Rep. Cameron Cooper Rep. Cindy Crawford Rep. Hope Hendren Duke Rep. Tony Furman Rep. Justin Gonzales Rep. Zack Gramlich Rep. DeAnna Hodges Rep. Grant Hodges Rep. Delia Haak Rep. RJ Hawk Rep. Steve Hollowell Rep. Jack Ladyman Rep. Wayne Long

Rep. Robin Lundstrum Rep. Julie Mayberry Rep. Mindy McAlindon Rep. Austin McCollum Rep. Richard McGrew Rep. Brit McKenzie Rep. Stephen Meeks Rep. Josh Miller Rep. Jon Milligan Rep. Jeremiah Moore Rep. Kendra Moore Rep. Stetson Painter Rep. Aaron Pilkington Rep. Chad Puryear Rep. David Rav Rep. Scott Richardson Rep. Marcus Richmond Rep. Ryan Rose Rep. Johnny Rye Rep. Kendon Underwood Rep. Steve Unger Rep. Danny Watson Rep. Jim Wooten