Abortion In Arkansas May Be Restricted to 18 Weeks
State representatives in the Arkansas House voted in favor of a 18 week restriction on abortions in Arkansas.
House Bill 1349 would limit abortions 18 weeks from a woman’s last menstrual cycle. In Arkansas, the current limit is 20 weeks. There would be an exception in the event of the endangerment of the mother’s life.
The 13 votes in opposition came from House Democrats.
Earlier this month, the Governor signed into law a ‘trigger’ bill in Arkansas which would automatically make abortion illegal in Arkansas should the Supreme Court overturn Roe V. Wade.
As reported by the Arkansas Democrat Gazette according to Arkansas Department of Health, most abortions performed at the state’s three operating abortion clinics are done before 16-18 weeks of pregnancy. In 2017, there were 3,249 abortions in Arkansas. 173 were performed after 16 weeks.
The bill will now move to the Arkansas Senate.